EU Plum oozing Amber

Is this something to be concerned about ?

Mt Royal EU Plum has a couple places with amber oozing thru the bark. And one spot where a square of bark seems to have pealed off ?

I read online that this is somewhat common for stone fruit and is often caused by hot/sunny/dry conditions…

We have had some of that. We had 4-5 weeks of no rain recently… then a couple rains… and now it is hot and dry again.

The amber is not runny at this point… it is quite hardened.

My Rosy Guage died this spring… some kind of wilt… now this on my Mt Royal.

I dont normally have to water fruit trees… but then there are years like this where i probably should.

More mulch… water it a few times good.

It does not look like insect damage to me (borer ?)… but I have no real experience with that.
If it is a borer… how do you tell ? What do you do to get rid of it ?

With borers, one expects to see insect poop (frass) that may look like sawdust and if frass is mixed with the sap, it wouldn’t look so clear. If your rootstock is peach it may be a target in the future.

There’s quite a few borer threads on this forum. Most people posted picture of manually removing the borer with a wire (e.g. an unraveled cloth hanger). Some used an insecticide like Sevin. Some use raw neem painted on trunk.

Going back to the sap, I have observed in heavy rain, my stonefruit trees may squeeze some sap out. So sometimes it could happen like that too. You might check after the next big rain.

2 Likes

@sockworth … I will take a closer look at it tomorrow. Thanks

I lost a plum tree to gummosis several years ago. Started out looking like that, I sprayed the trunk with Lindane and forgot about it. My fault, wasn’t borers, was fungal or bacterial and spread to ‘Emerald Beaut’ plum. Sprayed limbs well for both several times throughout the year. Next year it looked much better.