Everything you always wanted to know about growing pistachios and no one told you

Hi guys, I think it is appropriate to open a thread specialized in pistachio cultivation.
As you know, I am from the Castilla la Mancha region in Spain (region very productive of pistachios).
In my region we have an official center for the study of pistachio cultivation called El Chaparrillo:

https://chaparrillo.castillalamancha.es/pistacheros

The technical director of the pistachio department at the El Chaparrillo center is José Francisco Couceiro López, with whom I have a very good relationship of friendship and access to his germplasm bank.

I currently have a collection of about 50-55 female varieties and 5 male cultivars (the most important).

Since I started growing pistachios about 20 years ago, I have a lot of experience and can answer all the questions you may have (rootstocks, varieties, soil-climatic requirements, pollination , chill hours , harvesting , skinning, drying, roasting, etc…)
I’m going to show you some photographs of some of the varieties that I will harvest this weekend (I harvested the earliest harvest varieties about 10 days ago).
In the photographs that you are going to see there are varieties such as Avdat, Batouri, Joley, Boundoki, Ashouri, Kallehgouchi, Siirt, Sirora, Larnaca, Aegina, but I have many many more varieties

Some photos

Fruits of the variety Batouri

You can ask any questions you have about this crop.

Regards
Jose

13 Likes

What low temperatures can these tolerate?

If one had the room, could they be grown in a container?

Could a male branch be grafted on to a female tree to self pollinate?

These are beautiful trees!

2 Likes

Hi Beth.
It’s a pleasure to answer your questions (they are very simple questions)