Fb risk from an infected orchard

I want to take some apple scion wood from a friend’s orchard in which the pear trees were severely damaged from fire blight this spring. The pears are neighboring trees to a 20 oz apple from which the scions will come. Do I face increased risk to transfer fb? The apples don’t show any strikes at all.

If you don’t have FB I would not take the scion wood. FB bacteria is there long before it shows signs of it. It is not anything you want when plenty of scion wood without FB is available. Get your scion wood from a cold place when possible since FB likes heat. In Canada I would imagine they have less FB.

I’m not an expert on anything, but I am awake enough to reply.

Here’s my middle of the night thoughts. Any introduction of plant material, including scion wood is a risk, much like any other investment. According to the American Phytopathological Society (APS), an organization dedicated to the study and control of plant diseases, fire blight overwinters only in a small percentage of cankers formed on branches infected the previous spring. They also state that the bacteria can only survive on healthy surfaces such as leaves and branches for a limited period (weeks) when the infection is going around.

I linked their page on fire blight at the end of this post. I thought it was informative reading. What I gathered from what they said is that if you collect the scion wood from that apparently healthy apple tree from a branch with no cankers during the normal winter gathering time, it would be as low risk as bringing in material from elsewhere. It should not contain fire blight bacterium.

But read the article for yourself; gather info from others, and make your own informed decision. You know my practical experience is limited.

APS page on fire blight.