Fertilize for flavor and sweetness

For the purpose of getting sweeter fruits, is there any benefit to fertilizing this late date in the season. If so what?

Mike

1 Like

I’m not an expert and I really have no clue but I wouldn’t think fert would effect fruit sweetness. It would increase vegetative growth and depending on your formulation could add minerals that could be deficient in your soil. I think sweetness is heavily related to light exposure and the amount of water they receive. I know Fruitnut often talks about water deficits increasing brix.

But I could be wrong.

4 Likes

My thought would be no don’t fertilize now for any reason. Hope for lots of sun and not too much rain.

5 Likes

Not sure about the northern latitudes, but the advice I follow for apples and pears is to fertilize in March, June and September. Do not fertilize in a drought though. Decease the amount in June.

1 Like

@fruitnut

Here’s to hoping for more sun and less rain.

The candles are lit.

Mike

1 Like

Only one fruit I would fertilize right now and that’s my figs. They are still setting fruit.

1 Like

my father and grandfather used to believe that watering with a few tsp. of molasses in the water during ripening, would help the fruit to be more sweet. seemed to work as they always had great tasting berries. i think its more the micronutrients and sugar that boosted the micobial activity that made them sweeter. i still do it today.

2 Likes

Adding nitrogen will waterlog your apples, diluting their flavor. Only fertiize to grow the tree, once it starts producing, starve it.

2 Likes

Sounds like an old husband’s tale to me!

And many of them are worthwhile, I think.

:-)M

3 Likes