Fertilizer for fruit tree and berry list

Is there a one stop web site or PDF showing a simple list of recommended fertilizers for each type of fruit tree and berries. Since I’m new to growing fruit i’m not sure if it’s as easy as adding 10-10-10 or if I have to treat it like rocket science and add 10 different ingredient to each plant. I’ve seen so many different recommendation, I want my plants to grow and fruit but I’m not trying to be a master gardener or spend more money than I can buy fruit from the store. Obviously I would like to keep it simple and cost effective as I can and in the process support a healthy tree.

I added 3" of manure compost in each row or tree spot on Jan 1, 2021 and planted all of my fruit trees and berries around March 2021. Is it okay to start adding fertilizer or is the compost still working, all my trees and berries are looking good as of now? Should I apply fertilizer in a certain month or when I notice the leaves starting to lose there green color?

I have: Blueberry, Blackberry, Raspberry, Muscadines, Peach, Apple, Pomegranate, Pear, Plum, Mulberry, Avocados, Olive, Persimmon, Pawpaw, Figs, Currant, Maypop, kiwi, Citrus, Banana and Loquat.

4 Likes

Before adding fertilizer, I would have my soil tested to see if it needs fertilizer. Adding fertilizer to the soil when it does not need will result in excess fertilizer going into streams and lakes, causing pollution.
For blueberries, make sure your soil is sufficiently acidic. Soil test results usually include acidity.

1 Like

New trees should never be fertilized according to most experts. Fruiting bushes it’s ok to go mild. Compost or organic. Compost should not hurt trees but should only be applied on top not mixed in. In ground your plants have to grow in native soil. The sooner they get used to it the faster they will grow. Fertilizer burns unestablished roots and is a good way to kill your plants. Trees especially, most berry bushes can tolerate it but will be set back.