Figs, how to tell if they are ripe?

I am new to figs. Last year, none ripened in time. This year I have better luck. A Paradiso looked ripe yesterday. It was brownish and soft so I picked it. When I cut it up, I was not sure if it was fully ripe. The area near the stem was grren and tasted a bit raw. The area at the bottom tasted really good and sweet.

How can you tell when to pick figs? I have more figs on four different varieties that I hope will ripen for me before it gets

cold.

1 Like

I like them when shriveled up. Yours looks too green for me. If they won’t ripen on the bush well enough cut like in your picture, cover with row cover or cheese cloth to keep off the flies, and dry a couple days in the sun. I like them to look like this Strawberry Verte. Paradiso looks the same when shriveled a bit. These were allowed to shrivel on the bush. But weather and pests don’t always allow that.

2 Likes

Great. Thanks, Fruitnut. I assume this applies to all varieties.

I hope the rest will ripen in time. I am not very confident. I brought them out of the basement a bit late. So far, the figs are small and very green.

Most of the big fruited varieties to my taste are watery no matter what. To me they are more in need of some help drying than those types pictured.

Here’s some I was drying today. They are good to eat now as pictured. I think I’ll dry these another day for winter use.

Fruitnut,

Appreciate your advice very much. The pictures are very helpful, too.

It sort of depends on the fig. Brown Turkey types are really great when they are nice and juicy. They have a honey’d quality to them. For the most part I wait for figs to droop and soften up. Sometimes they crack a little, but if they shrivel up too much on the tree they usually have a fermented or vinegary smell/taste. If I see any latex coming from the stem end of the fig, I know I was a bit too early.

Old Spanish Proverb