First try at Cider

This is my first try at Cider pressing. I got 4 gallons out of 2 bushel of apples. I’m not sure that I’m happy with that. At 26$ a bushel it works to 13$ a gallon! Yikes!

Oh well, my young orchard will soon make them for me and I won’t be buying them.

3 Likes

It looks like they could have been ground up more before pressing(the pic of the pressed apples in the plastic bag). Might be why you only got 4 gallons out of all those apples.

1 Like

I don’t know how to grind them better. I bought what I thought was the correct tool. It was kinda expensive also.
I hate to not use it. I may put a motor on it and spin it about 3000 RPM. :smile:

The apples were not real soft either.

The stuff coming out of your grinder looks OK . It just looked like some of the pressed stuff was cut up instead of ground up. Even if the apples are cut and then put through the grinder they don’t get ground up well enough to get a good press on them. I agree you should have gotten way more than 4 gallons from 2 bushel of apples.

I’ll bet it tasted great.

1 Like

Did you cut up the apples first? On my grinder you want to run whole apples through as slices can sneak through without getting shredded. The only exception is really huge apples may need to be cut in half. One other thing is you want to sweat the apples to let them soften before pressing, they may have been too green. I always let my apples sit for at least a week before pressing.

You didn’t do horribly with 2 gal per bushel, the hand screw presses have an efficiency max of around 60% (1 lb of apples give .6 lb juice) and that gets you about 2 3/4 gallons per bushel. You are around 45% efficiency which is the lower end of what the presses do.

2 Likes

I did all sort of cuts during the process. I was quartering huge apples to start with and they didn’t want to feed well so I did cut them more and yes, exactly some slices got through.