Floppy persimmon and dead McIntosh?

Hello! I’m a newbie and planted some fruit trees last summer and fall. This spring I’m observing some tree behaviors I’m unfamiliar with and would like your advice.

First tree is a permission I bought at the Korean store (I walked in one day for groceries and they were selling trees, I couldn’t help myself). It was staked to a bamboo stick when I got it, and when I finally untied it, it kinda flopped down. Like it had no rigidity in the wood. I tied it up more loosely and left it for 6 months or so. This spring I replanted it to a sunnier spot, and this time it didn’t have a net around it and spread out however it wanted to. It looked like it hadn’t been floppy, just the shape of the tree is close to the ground for the thicker branch. A couple weeks later it’s got leaves and it’s looking very floppy again. Why can’t it hold itself straighter up and has such a soft main branch? Is this normal? (First pic)

Second question is about a McIntosh apple tree that hasn’t woken up this year :cry: I planted it 2.5 years ago. It was doing more or less fine, growing well. I took off all the baby apples last year to let it grow and not use energy on the apples. It looked fine in the fall. But this spring it hasn’t woken up. It doesn’t look 100% dead… there are kinda alive looking buds, but no flowers or leaves. Can it be such a late tree? Or did it die recently? I don’t see any damage to the bark, I haven’t sprayed or watered it with anything weird. (Second, third, and fourth pic)

And my last question is about an Arkansas Black apple I planted last fall. I haven’t gotten a second apple tree next to it for pollination yet. But it looks like it formed some baby apples. How is that possible? Are they going to fall off? (Last pic)

Thanks for any help with my totally newbie questions! I’ll

1 Like

I imagine your Arkansas Black was pollinated by another tree in the neighborhood.