General Questions About Pixie Crunch Apple

I’m new to apple growing, so hopefully you all will be able to direct me.

I live in Orange County, CA and am looking to plant some lower chill apples. I found a Pink Lady and a Red Fuji locally. The Fuji died even before planting, but the Pink Lady is doing well after a half year in the ground.

I’m looking to plant a partner for the Pink Lady and wonder if the Pixie Crunch would be a good companion. Some places say yes, others say little about pollinators or give conflicting information. Can anyone clarify?

I’m on a small lot, so a full sized tree is out of the question, but I don’t want a dwarf, either. I’d prefer a semi-dwarf but don’t see many options out there for that. Does anyone sell a semi-dwarf Pixie Crunch? If so, which root stock is recommended?

Thank you for any direction you can supply.

Cummins has Pixie Crunch on G935 which works really well in central Ia.
This recommendation may not be overly helpful.:slight_smile:

Thank you, Chikn. Would you happen to know what sort of height/spread will there be on a Pixie Crunch on G935?

Hello, welcome to the forum, you will find a lot of good information and conversation on this site. I joined back in the spring and I have learned a lot in that short time. Lots of helpful folks on here.

Anyway, to answer your question about G.935 rootstock size, they are generally 40-50% the size of a full size apple tree. So, it sounds like it is a semi dwarf, not dwarf rootstock.
Here is some info about this RS compared to some others.

https://www.acnursery.com/resources/rootstock-info/apple

Or,

As far as pollination goes both Pixie Crunch and Pink Lady have similar pollination times, so they ought to be a good match for each other.

This site I have found to be very informative regarding fruit trees, especially apples. It’s actually the home site of the second link above.