Got my Clemson bags today

Who has tried these and had any luck with them?

2 Likes

Link?

https://www.clemson.edu/extension/peach/commercial/diseases/clemsonfruitbags.html

1 Like

If you use the search function (a looking glass symbol on the top right corner of a page , you will find plenty of info about Clemson bags.

Here is one of many threads. You should read up those old threads.

I tried the bags last year and they did fine.They first seemed like water could deteriorate them,but tested one first by soaking it.There must be some kind of coating or something added,when making the paper,that helps it’s water resistance.

It is a type of wax paper, I believe. I can use some of those bags for two years when I am careful.

1 Like

I have been using these bags for maybe 3 or 4 years now on my peaches and apples. I really like them. It really cuts down on my sprays.

1 Like

I put 200 bags on peaches and the squirrels took every one off in two weeks and ate out all the peaches.

Sounds like you need bags made by Sturm Ruger Company!

2 Likes

Sounds like a job for Smith and Wesson.

5 Likes

They are not intended as squirrel protection; they are excellent protection from insects and birds.

3 Likes

Try Roadrunner ACME bags

5 Likes

I had squirrels take every single peach one year. I tried shooting, trapping, and scare tactics but the thing that finally worked for me was trimming limbs up higher and putting an upside down 5 gallon bucket with hole in the bottom about 3-4 feet off the ground and around trunk. I’ve only done this two years but both years worked.

5 Likes

Welcome,Justin
That bucket idea is interesting,but I’m having difficulty picturing,how it’s attached to the tree.

Search bagging fruit on this site. Members have tried everything. Clemson does not work. NOTHING stops squirrels.

1 Like