Grafting hormones

There exist rooting powders, liquids and gels, yet there doesn’t seem to be even as much as an anti-fungal, never mind an auxin or other product for encouraging callus growth.

Never mind anything with might help overcome graft incompatibility.

Or do such products exist?

Just wondering, and I know perhaps if anyone would be to know… It’s likely to be one of you

Scott

I wonder what the percentage of takes are for a typical commercial nursery. I suspect it is too high to create demand for the kind of product you seek. With practice, the demand diminishes even for amateurs and the mistakes beginners make might not be corrected by such a product. But then, I’m not talking about those tougher assignments like nut trees, persimmons or even paw paws. I have about a 75% failure rate with paw paws, failed the only time I tried persimmon- on these species I’m still a complete beginner.

Stonefruit were a big challenge at first but I seem to have overcome the hurtle with them.

1 Like

I think the product you’re looking for is hydrogen peroxide diluted in water with aspirin. Just due to the mechanics of what is going on, there’s not much you can do for that brief period besides keeping it moist, oxygenated and sterile.

Chills,
Through the years, I’ve seen reports of folks dipping scions in various rooting hormone preparations at the time of grafting… with some claims that callusing in accelerated or % of ‘takes’ is improved. I never have gotten around to trying it.

I’ve grafted some pawpaw and persimmon seedlings and I’m tempted to see if I can keep the scion from drying out by using water-polymer gel with rooting hormone secured to the base of the scions with a plastic bag. I’m just wary of disturbing the grafts at this point.

Or am I risking rot or something by diving it?

Scott