Grafting peaches

Grafting peaches is supposed to be more difficult that other stone fruit or pome fruit. What would be the best grafting method to use? I have so many exotic peaches to graft this year I would really like some success. Thanks.

4 Likes

I’m no expert on grafting peaches. My results have been spotty at best. I like splice or W&T. Have had some but limited success with cleft. I really do much better with T budding but that’s a late spring method and usually with green scions.

1 Like

I waited for warm weather and bark grafted, I got about 50 percent takes.

1 Like

Mrs. G,

Like Fruitnut, my spring grafting successes for peaches have been spotty. I’ve had fairly consistent results late budding peaches w/ green wood at the first of Sept.

The bud grafts overwinter here as “sleepy eyes”. I cut them back to the top of the buds and transplant them to their permanent location in the spring, where most of them seem to successfully grow from the bud grafts.

I’ve had better luck spring grafting peaches on large existing trees, than on new rootstocks. Peaches require higher temps to callus, and by that time in the season, when temps are high, individual seedling peach rootstocks have leafed out and grown so much they may not have the energy required to push growth if they are beheaded and grafted. Mature trees have plenty of energy, and will push later peach grafts. This tactic is only useful for me because I can use the grafted wood grown on mature trees that summer to bud graft young peach rootstocks in the fall, if I am trialing a new variety.

As I reflect on my writing about this, my words seem like they would be hard to understand even for me. I hope you can make some sense of it.

1 Like

Continuing the discussion from 2016 Peach Tree Pruning: