Grafting plum & other stone fruit

I have had success in my experimentation with apples.

Now I have some pears and plum scion coming and was wondering if there is any other factor I should take into account with the plum especially.

I know to wait until the tree is actively growing, But anything else of import???

Thanx
Mike

My concerns are about what technique to use, cambium alignment, covering to prevent drying while the graft heals, and proper temperature for callusing. Usually the later is OK if the rootstock is growing. I’m not very good with the bark type grafts but have had good success with cleft, W&T, and simple splice grafts.

I just got some parafilm M and it doesn’t seem much different than what I already had. I’m going to try it for rooting fig cuttings this spring along with grafting nectarine and peach.

I don’t like the split open limb that cleft grafting leaves behind but think it’s really not much of an issue. The tree handles it pretty well and it’s a strong graft.

The tree doesn’t need to be actively growing, it only needs to have the sap flowing, and that will be indicated by bud swell. Use the same techniques you used on your apples.
Fruitnut, it’s funny, but I find bark grafting to be the easiest method for me.
Figs are the easiest things to root. Take your cutting and stick it in a one gallon pot filled with good potting soil. Water it thoroughly and place it in the shade and don’t let it dry out. When the leaves begin to appear, move it to full sun and keep it watered. You don’t need parafilm or anything else for that matter. I’ve never had a fig cutting not take.

Ray:

You’ve got humidity. Out here it can be below 1% humidity in spring. Others rot their fig cuttings mine just set there and don’t root. I did get 50% takes last spring but some only after upping water.