Growing herbs and veggies - seeking feedback

Hi!
I’m very new to this, please be kind :slight_smile:
Attached are some photos of herbs / veggies I planted very recently (about 4 weeks ago) in my small backyard. Obviously as you can see some are doing better than others. Here are some of the issues as far as I can tell:

1. The cilantro is turning into a flower, not sure why that is.
  2. Not seeing any signs of tomatoes coming.
  3. Bugs bugs bugs…I have white flies on the cucumber leaves and something is definitely very interested in my basil.

Some more detail:

1. I’ve been using this product for insect control, seems to help some but doesn’t completely mitigate the issue. Perhaps I should be using something stronger? What do you guys recommend?
  2. My home is in Southern California.
  3. I’m feeding them Miracle-Gro Performance Organics Edibles Plant Nutrition
  4. The area is getting a good amount of sunlight. Haven’t measured but I estimate it to be around 7-8 hours a day.
  5. I’m using Rachio automatic scheduling for watering. Rachio’s schedule is a bit out of the ordinary as it only waters roughly once per week. When I asked, the founder actually responded directly and explained “deep, infrequent watering promotes healthier roots”. Link.
  6. Soil type is “Sandy loam”.

Images here:

(I was going to upload to the site but it’s limited to 1 photo for new users)

2 Likes

You need to be patient. Four weeks isn’t enough time for most vegetables to grow and produce.

Your summer weather is probably too warm for cilantro. In cooler weather it produces more leaves and doesn’t flower so fast. Try again when the weather cools down.

Your tomatoes are still pretty small, though I don’t know what type they are. Unless it’s too hot, some of those flowers will produce fruit. Be patient.