Growing Japanese Persimmons in zone 7a

Hello everyone,
This is my first time posting here, and I could really use some advice on persimmons. I recently purchased a Jiro (rootstock wasn’t given) rated at a zone 6, and I ordered a Chocolate, and Coffee Cake persimmon, both are on lotus rootstock and rated zone 7. I’m not concerned to much with the Jiro but am starting to worry that the other two might suffer from cold damage or may not have a long enough season to produce ripe fruit in my area. Has anyone grown these varieties in zone 7 or lower? Is lotus rootstock cold hardy? If anyone can share some of their experiences and advice I would greatly appreciate it.
Thanks,
Matthew
Virginia zone 7a

1 Like

We’ve got some serious, serious persimmon experts on here who can help you much more. But as someone who lives right on the line of 6a/7b in TN, I can tell you that I’ve had 3 Japanese persimmons survive the last 2 years and 1 that didn’t. My Chocolate, Saijo, and fuyu have made it at least 2 winters (saijo and fuyu have gone through 3 winters). But my Hachiya died durring its 2ed winter. This experience doesn’t really reflect what I’ve read about which of those are most hardy, but its what I’ve experienced.

To be fair, I should also say that the last 2 winters have been very mild and even 3 years ago wasn’t as harsh here as other locations. SO I don’t know that they’ve really been tested. I think the coldest we’ve been in any of those 3 years is just about 5 degrees, and only for a day or two.

Hi Matthew, I have had Chocolate for at least a dozen years in 7a and it has done fine. Coffeecake also should do fine. Unless it gets below 0F you should be OK with them. I have several varieties on lotus.

2 Likes