Growing out of tree tubes - Next steps?

I’m new to chestnuts. I have 5 Chinese chestnuts which are now about 2 feet out of 5 foot grow tubes this summer. The tops are bending over like candy canes. The growth tips are nearly horizontal on most of them.

Is this something that will correct itself with time? Or should I stake a little higher to straighten them out? One has started to branch, the other 4 are still whips. These are in my front lawn so I’d like them to grow symmetrically eventually.

1 Like

Notorious issue with tree tubes. They will not straighten themselves out IME.

2 Likes