Growing santa rosa plum in zone 8B

Hi guys,

I am pretty new to the fruit game. finally bought myself a detached home. can anyone tell me if I am good to grow santa rosa plum un zone 8B (Vancouver BC, Canada) I met an old folk that has a santa rosa plum at his backyard, and hes telling me that it doesnt bear fruit at all. maybe a handful on a good year. I am 2hr drive north of Seattle. so I would consider that I am in PNW zone? I am in need of a good pollinator for my Pluot that I planted last year. I am very limited on space, dont want to risk it if doesnt produce fruit.

thanks,
Tutti-Fuiti

1 Like

Hi and welcome.I’ve had a multi-grafted Plum,for about ten years,with Santa Rosa as one of the first varieties.Mine is like the one mentioned in your post,with very few fruit.Some people get a lot somewhere.

1 Like

Welcome to the Forum,
It’s good to see more from our region!
So what variety name is your Pluot? I’m not so sure Santa Rosa is the best pollinator although you probably do need another Asian, native plum or hybrid. Did your pluot blossom last year? If so what was its blossom period, that data would be useful to determine the best pollinators
Dennis
Kent, Wa

1 Like

I have a flavor grande plumcot planted next to a santa rosa plum. Both trees flower profusely. The plumcot produces a lot of fruit and the santa rosa less than a handful. Both trees came from Stark’s. Both trees have grown well and the santa rosa was recommended by Starks as the proper pollinator. I think this season will be their fifth year for fruiting. Guess maybe that is the norm for santa rosa.

Hi Herb,
Did you happen to write down their respective dates for these stages