Growing strawberries indoors using hydroponics

I’ve been doing hydroponics for three years and have had a lot of success and a LOT of failures. Last year I really stepped up the game and accomplished exactly what I set out to do, which was to grow a ton of salad veggies (Photo1, Photo2).

This year I hope to use the same system for growing strawberries. I grew Mara Des Bois (for its flavor) and
Evie 2 (for its productivity) outdoors in strawberry towers but while they appeared healthy and produced a decent crop the strawberries were extremely bland for some reason (nutrient deficiency?) and then got destroyed by SWD. About a month ago I rooted a bunch of runners as they were hanging off the mother plant in rockwool cubes wrapped in aluminum foil and have since transported them into my temporary hydroponic nursery system to grow out the roots before they get moved to the final system.

Above is what they looked like a couple days ago. If you look close you can see a couple flowers already forming and the new growth is looking healthy, although some of it is deformed from the transplant shock of going from the cold outdoors with no nutrients to 72°F root temps in highly oxygenated and because I used too strong of a nutrient solution.

I know this is an unusual way to grow fruit and I haven’t seen to many topics about hydroponics on here but I would be glad to answer any questions and post updates about my progress over this winter if there is interest in it.

3 Likes