Hardy Kiwis dormant cuttings

Bob V.

Here are the dormant kiwis cuttings scratched one inch below the node and dipped in rooting hormone. They are starting to push buds and not sure yet that they are rooting.

Tony

7 Likes

Looking good. How long ago did you put them in the pots? Are you going to check for roots soon?

It has been 3 weeks now. Not sure when to check for rooting. Anyone knows? This is my first time trying to root these hardy Kiwis vines.

Tony

1 Like

Iā€™ve gotten new solidified wood to root pretty easily. Straight cuttings of older wood frequently push leaves but never have successfully rooted for me long term.

I generally wait until new wood has started to brown before pushing cuttings into potting soil.

Chills

Bob

The dormant kiwis cuttings looking good. I just let them be for another month and will see what happens.

Tony.

3 Likes

Bob V. and all.

Now it is official that dormant hardy Kiwi cuttings is real easy to root. Bob V.gave me 33 cuttings and 26 rooted. I planted them all yesterday. There was not enough fence line so I had to plant 3 in a hole with 2 females and one male. All six of the Kenā€™s Red rooted. Larger caliber cuttings seem to make more roots. Cheers,

Tony

4 Likes

They are pretty easy. Iā€™ve got over 70% of my cuttings to root in just water.

5 Likes

Hi

I have one female hardy kiwi that is now 6 years old and grows well, i wanted to try to make some new plants from cuttings.
Can you tell me is it now ok to take cuttings from hardy kiwi and can you please explain this method with rooting kiwi cuttings in water.

About one month ago i try to root few hardy kiwi cuttings in potting mix but seems no success.

1 Like