Hardy table grape cold storage

I’m looking for info on how well various hardy table grapes keep in the fridge. I gather that Swenson Red and Reliance store well that way.

I’ve seen conflicting info on St. Theresa (Montreal Blue(s)) and Trollhaugen.

Can’t find anything about cold storage potential for Brianna or Somerset.

Those are the ones I’ve been looking at most, want something that will bear winter without laying down in what seems to be zone 4 (almost 6000 feet in a cold pocket in north-central UT). The soil is also alkaline here, so that’s been a consideration as well. Earliblue and Vanessa are also supposed to store well, and I may look at them.

So, anyone know of additional cold storage info about those varieties or others I should consider? Thanks!

I have always been intrigued by the description of “Yates” at bunch grapes: Grapevine Cutting Sales by Lon Rombough | bunchgrapes.com | Yates Grapes I have no personal experience with the grape. Rated to around -15 F may not be hardy enough for you however.

1 Like

Thanks. Looks like Yates ripens a weeks after Concord, which is marginal here in part because it ripens late. I’d actually love to grow Concord if it were a little more hardy and early.

1 Like

Growing most of what you talked about in 4b Canada (USDA 3b). See my writups.

Not all has fruited.

Vanessa hardier than reliance. Both marginal here with tons dieback so have pulled out both. Think I have trollhaugen from a mislabeled grape. It’s ok.

Somerset is awesome. Holds 3 was on vine fine. Have forgotten for 3-4 weeks in fridge and was still good if starting to think of going raison like a bit.

Brianna and Swenson red not fruited yet.

Check out Bluebell for a good hardy grape but does not keep long.

1 Like

Thanks, hungry. Good to know about Somerset in your fridge. I plan to eat these fresh at least for a couple years, so storage is a main thing.