Has anyone seen a gooseberry Hybrid like this?

I collected the seeds from my gooseberry plant that I loved while living in Germany. However I am new to growing I had no clue that a currant and a gooseberry could cross at the time. My German neighbors had loads of currants in their tiny back and front yards. I have no clue what type crossed with my gooseberry. Here’s the kicker I have at least four different types of leaf shapes on all the seeds tha came up this year. However this is the most interesting one of them all. Has anyone ever seen a gooseberry hybrid like this. All my plants have thorns like my gooseberry plant had too. My gooseberry plant I had in Germany was very tasteful and ripened to a burgundy color.

2 Likes

Hmm?! Looks like a shape loving plat called Astilbe.

2 Likes

I’m sure I won’t know what I truly have on my hands for a couple more years. Some of my other gooseberries have leaves that kinda look like Crandall currants. They all came from the same piece of fruit. I’ve been so intertained with these in my garden this year. I’ll look up the plant you suggested too.

1 Like

Then there’s this one that looks different too.

1 Like

Then there is the leaf shape that looks the closest to the parent plant.

1 Like

These are all my babies that came from one piece of gooseberry fruit. I’ll be keeping them all to see what each one developes fruit wise.

3 Likes

If what you have are gooseberry/current crosses they are likely to be sterile and not produce fruit unfortunately…