Has anyone start a Coconut tree from a store bought nut?

I bought a Coconut from a store with a little sprout coming out on the top and not sure about how to get it growing to a seedling.

Tony

2 Likes

Tony are you sure you know what your signing up for? The palm your contemplating growing gets 80-100 ft tall. They grow in every situation I have seen on sandy tropical beaches so I would plant it in sand. It’s very hot in those places where it grows. I have no real world experience just what I have seen on forums, movies, and in books.

it will continue to grow if provided warmth. Will even survive and grow much bigger in a couple of months without access to water or soil, living off its food stores and water supply
if you don’t see any active growth in a couple of wees, it is liely that that the embryo is already dead. It may have already developed prior to being removed from the tropics, and chilled customarily while in transit, which is usually lethal.
incidentally, if you decide to eat it, you’re in for a delicacy. As coconuts with embryos develop sweet cotyledons inside their shells. If you split the shell open, you’d see that the base of the sprout would be what appears to be a tumor. That ‘tumor’ is delicious, eaten straightaway!

Thanks Clark and Jujus for the growth infos. Exactly that oval cotton candy like inside the coconut that I am after. It was crunchy, sweet and rich. Out of this world tasting. I am glad I had the chance to experience it and want my kids to experience it too. I hope this nut will grow to 2 feet then I will crack it open. See the photo below.

Tony

2 Likes

Tony,
I have never grown coconut without husk like that. On Youtube I saw a New Zealand guy did it the way you do. All I can say is keep it moist and warm.

Where I came from, we grow coconut in well drain soil. When we were in the Northeast this summer. My daughter volunteered teaching English at a local school for a week. The school planted 5 Coconut trees in her honor.