Haskap / Honeyberry Bloom Timing

When I starting planting Haskaps I studied the charts and info and was concerned about overlap and pollination. But now that more of my plants are blooming I’m finding (at least this year) plenty of overlap from one end to the other of early to late varieties. Indigo Gem and Aurora were opening 5/13 and full bloom two days later. 5/15 Beauty, Blizzard and Beast were starting. Today 5/22 all the bushes are full of blossoms at all stages – past, open, and buds. (BerryBlue, HoneyBee and BlueMoon are small and I nipped the buds off early but they were in there with the rest). I’m no longer worried about pollination amongst them. And SO glad I don’t have to be concerned about the freeze forecast for tonight as far as the haskaps.

Are others’ varieties farther apart in bloom? Maybe our climate here encourages them to all get going together so they can support each other. Sue

2 Likes

You are mentioning varieties that have a lot of Russian in them. They tend to be from colder regions (although there are some warmer russian ones) tend to bloom sooner, and are pretty much impervious to overnight frosts. My haskaps started flowered about two weeks ago, it has been freezing overnight just about every night (can’t use my hose in the morning because it is iced up), I don’t worry one bit about the flowers.

Heck last year I pulled a large Tundra somebody gave me, they were clearing an area for a path. The plant was greening out pretty good while half of the root ball/mass was still on a slab of ice. Japanese varieties can take the heat better but the old varieties you have are as cold hardy as they come.

1 Like

i have all the same as you mentioned and noticed the same thing. i just got 2 strawberry sensations im slightly worried about but i read 1 of the boreal series overlaps with it. bumbles all over my yard working them and my romance cherries and currants right now.

4 Likes