Help me ID unknown blackberry

I have two blackberry plants that I’ve been growing for the past 6 years or so. Both were called “Chester” but they seem to be quite different so I think at least one is mislabeled.

This one below has white flowers and very sturdy trailing canes. I’m in zone 3 so have to bend these canes to the ground and cover them with mulch to get through the winter, and the canes on this plant are so sturdy that it’s easy to break them when bending them to the ground. I think this plant is the real Chester. It’s not terribly productive and I’m thinking of removing it.

This other plant is vastly more productive, has thinner, more pliable canes that are easier to bend to the ground so they can be mulched over winter, tends to have somewhat smaller berries, and the flowers are definitely pink. This plant has also produced several suckers over the year, whereas the white-flowered plant above has never produced a single sucker. Any idea what the pink-flowered plant is? It must be something hardy, since I can grow it in zone 3, but it does have quite a bit of winter kill even when covered.
photo Aug2515Chesterpink.jpg

1 Like

Most blackberries have white flowers, and it’s hard to ID with flowers. Chester does have pink flowers though.

I would say the pink-flowered blackberry is Chester. It is VERY prolific and suckers pretty significantly. And, it has pink flowers. Berries ripen in July. Are they both thornless? Chester is thornless. And it is a pretty good blackberry, taste-wise.

Interesting. Yes, they are both thornless. I wouldn’t say the pink one sucker aggressively… it has only produced 2 or 3 suckers and I planted it in 2010. The white-flowered one was planted in 2009 and has never suckered. Could be the climate. Berries taste identical and are delicious but you have to wait until they get a bit soft for them to really sweeten up.