Hemp fabric as growing pot material

I would like to ask if anyone has ever used hemp fabric pots. I would like to sew by myself fabric pots for growing blueberries.

I am especially concerned about its life span. Has anyone had a long term experience with hemp fabric. Do you think it would last 5 years?

2 Likes

I think your sewing would be the weak point, maybe you could parachute stitch with fishing line or something strong? Burlap as fabric pots seems to last two years and i usually have gotten rid of any fabric pots after 5 years but they were exposed to heavy sunlight.

5 Likes

I think RichardRoundTree said it. Quality hemp cloth for clothing…lasts until people out-grow it!
But, for pots, 5 years seems possible, but I have no experience with it. But, you’d need to sew with nylon or some tough thread.

3 Likes

I once purchased a bunch of Rootmaker synthetic bags early in the company’s history that had mistakenly used cotton thread to sew them together in the manufacturing process. I started trying to dig up trees after 3 years and the thread was long gone, the roots had long since made their getaway. I don’t know what would make hemp more enduring when subjected to the moisture and organisms that exist in the soil, even potting soil.

One of the big problems of my nursery business ecologically is all the plastic I must use. Even my bare root trees have plastic sheeting under them.

3 Likes