How do you pronounce "pluot"?

Yeah, I know it might be a silly question, but so much of what I learn comes from reading without ever hearing words pronounced. It’s possible for me to go for years before realizing that I’ve been pronouncing a word laughably wrong. So, how do you pronounce pluot ? One syllable or two? What does it rhyme with?

While I’m embarrassing myself, how about pluerry ?

Gee I’m not good at this but know what you mean. I’ve been embarrassed by that even on peoples names and body parts not normally spoken about in public. :flushed:

Pluot is two syllabes. plu like you. ot like otter starts. That’s my best effort.

Pluerry I’d start the same and end like rie. The e in the middle is silent the way I pronounce it.

1 Like

Thank you, fruitnut.

I’m sitting here trying to say “pluerry”. Does it rhyme with flurry?

Maybe I’m wrong but I always pronounce it plu like flu then ree…plu-ree

1 Like

Agree with Speedster.

I always assumed pluerry was a variation on pluot pronunciation: a plew-airy kind of thing. Pluot is definitely pronounced plew-ott.

Scott

1 Like

You could be right because it’s just like OP stated. Haven’t heard anyone from CA pronounce pluerry. But I don’t have that a in the middle. More like plew-ry.

Thank you ALL. I feel a tad less ignorant now. :blush: , especially after reading 2 possibilities for pluerry.

After all, there is more than one way to pronounce “almond”, and I can’t even count the number of ways people pronounce “pecan”.

I pronounce Pluot as plew ott. Pluerry I pronounce as plew airy, although I have heard it pronounced as plerry (monosyllabic).

1 Like