How much shade Paw Paw can tolerate?

Hi There,

I am new to paw paw. I know it can tolerate shade. I just planted my two paw paw plants last week.

I thought the area could get about 4 hours of sun. I was wrong. One of the two plants gets about 2 hours of sun only, the other gets about 4 hours.

Are two hours of sun too little for paw paw to be productive? If needed, I could move it. I am in zone 6 MA.

I appreciate your input.

I have some pawpaws in similar conditions. They don’t fruit much at all, but I also don’t eat a lot of pawpaw so it works out OK. Most of my pawpaws are in the 4-hour sun range.

Scott is right about paw paw fruit production and shade. Shaded paw paw tree tends to be lengthy and less productive but in full sun it grows wider, shorter in height, and way more productive.

Tony

Thanks Scott and Tony.

If paw paw tastes like its relative, custard apple, I think I want my trees to be more productive. Have to move them to a sunnier area.

Tony, I know paw paw grows slowly. In the sun, you said it will grow wider. Can you tell me how wide can it be in, please?

I may need to sqeeze them among the pear trees. Can they be managed at about 5-6 ft apart? Thanks again.

I have mine 6’ apart, it works very well.

This lack of production in the shade combined with the photosensitivity for the first two years is why I’m growing mine in root pruning containers. I’ll keep them in the shade for the first two growing seasons and then plant them in full sun when they able to handle it.

If you scroll down in this thread: Pawpaw Mortality you will see some pictures of mine. I tried and experiment placing two of these first season pawpaws where they could get slightly more sun and they got scorched pretty quickly.

1 Like

Hi forest,
I did read that thread. I bought my plants from a nursery in CT called Logee’s. They were in the sun at a display stand when I bough them. They are about 1.5 Ft tall in a 4x4" pot.