How phosphorus flows through an environment over many decades

1 Like

On a related point, I’m no soil scientist, but I’ve always wondered why applications of P are so often proscribed as a prerequisite for establishing orchards because of “insufficient” quantities in the soil when actual deficiency symptoms in trees are so rare.

My sense is that P is an issue with annual plants in their first month or so, before they develop mycorrhizal relationships which provide adequate P in most soils for most plants once established.

Given how long it takes for science to sort out dietary and nutritional issues in human beings whose digestive processes and nutritional needs are easier to study, that it is about just a single species and that the investment in research is so much larger, one has to take the available information about plant nutrition with a grain of salt.

Most nutrients are grains of salt :slight_smile:

2 Likes

The salt dissolves in water. Nutrients as taken up by the plant are electrically charged ions.

2 Likes

Sufficient quanties of P not bound to the local soil can be important for root development in non-native plants.

Brassicas - a large annual crop group - do not develop significant mycorrhizal relationships.

Yes, so they say- the problem is finding any trees with actual P deficiency- in commercial fruit production it seems to be exceedingly rare. It’s not what’s in the soil, it’s what’s in the leaves. Also I believe the correlation of P to root development to be a debunked but often repeated myth.

Early studies came to these conclusions in artificial soils where it appears the less root growth was the result not of the lack of P but of the presence of N and that roots grow to reach both water and N. A plant needs put out less root if there is sufficient water and N nearby.

This is based on what I learned some 25 years ago, so if you have info that comes after that I’d love to see it.