How to Prune This Pear Tree

Hello there. I am a novice fruit tree enthusiast. I bought this Comice Pear tree last year and did some dormant pruning on it. Mainly I just trimmed the newer growth and removed redundant or twiggy growth. What I am wondering is how best to prune it now to stimulate the development of the low scaffold branches. Initially I thought the structure would develop into a nice central leader structure, but now I am worried the low scaffolds are quite spindly compared to the main trunk and that they will not grow very well. Should I remove the center leader entirely to encourage these limbs, or does this tree look like it will develop nicely as is?

The pear tree is supposedly a dwarf, but I do not know what rootstock it is on. It was a Hollybrook Orchards plant.

Your pear has a good basic structure for a central leader with plenty of scaffolding to choose from. And your scaffolds have good branch angles. The only thing I see that needs attention this year is that one fatter scaffold branch that wants to compete with the leader. Don’t let it. Others may correct me here, but I’d think about cutting that branch back to the bend and then training the new growth that should appear.

5 Likes

I agree

2 Likes

There aren’t any buds lower on the branch to cut to, otherwise I already would have shortened it. I had that thought as well. So tell me, should I worry so much about cutting to a bud, dormant or otherwise obviously present, or should a young tree respond to a cut regardless of what is visibly present? I have another pear that was in poor health when I got it and I want to stimulate it, but again am worried about it not wanting to “back bud.”

To be even more confusing, I did think I could make a bench cut on that limb -and others- to a small spur, but the spurs are quite teeny, and again with my question regarding budding, will a fruit bud push vegetative growth if stimulated by a cut?

1 Like

Hi Chase,