How & when do I propagate wild blackberries?

Good Morning All! My name is Pat, and I’m new here, so greetings to everyone, an a Happy New Year. My question goes like this: I’d like to have some of the wonderfully delicious blackberries that grow wild in our area (Intermountain NorCal, Zone 7a), but I need to know when and how to propagate them. I’m aware of at least some of the risks of planting wild Blacks in my yard, but these things are so very successful up here, and so incredibly delicious that it seems a little silly to to buy plants and hope…anyway, any and all advice is welcomed, including the “bewares”. I know some, but not everything, and there just may be some tidbit of info that might make me think twice about this project. Many Thanks, Pat from NorCal

I’m no expert on your climate though can tell you blackberries should be transplanted when dormant. There are a few things I would do to reduce risks such as cut back the top to a few inches above the ground, leave the dirt at the location and move them barefoot. Give the roots a good rinse in water. Give the top a good spraying or dipping with an antifungal such as captan. An expert in your area may have other or better advice more relevant to your area. You can edit your title to get there attention to say something like " How and When do I propagate blackberries in North California". The advice I gave you works great in Kansas but California has different rules , regulations, pests, growing conditions etc.

1 Like

Welcome Pat

You could just dig up some of the plants from the old location and transplant them to your location when the plants are dormant if you just need a few plants. If you need a lot of plants at the new location, root cuttings work well. I’m not sure about any rules or regulations that may govern that type of activity in your area, so you may want to check it out first. I borrowed the info below on root cuttings from the University of Florida: