I wish I could grow dates - Phoenix dactylifera

I’ve been collecting date seeds for more than 20 years and have been a huge fan of dates long before that. Luckily the seeds last for hundreds of years so if I ever find a place to grow them out they’re ready to go, or I can just give them to someone else to keep. Below are dates I sampled in Dubai and Abu Dhabi. The two on the left are amazing - Safari and Kholas. Safari is a very dense extremely chewy date with excellent flavor that I have never seen in the US. Kholas is recognized in the Middle East as one of the best flavored dates and it truly has amazing flavor. Allegedly there is a date grower in Southern California that has a Kholas palm but keeps the dates for himself and his friends and will not sell them. Wanan is a large very sweet date that has a

simple flavor much like Medjool but seems to be from very different genetics than Medjool. To the far right are Lulu dates which are very popular in the UAE but not one of my favorites. The yellow dates are fresh Barhi dates which we do have in the US. Most fresh dates cannot be eaten because they are very astringent, like American persimmons, until they soften up. But Barhi and a few other varieties lose their astringency while they are still fresh and can be eaten while still crisp.

7 Likes

Do dates grow true from seed?

And I’ve heard they have dwarfing dates that you might be able to grow in a half-whiskey barrel and take them in for winter. Have you looked into that?

1 Like

What are climate requirements for ripening dates? I’m growing a few date palm trees from seeds as landscape specimens, but they are no-name and grow very slow, so I have no idea whether they will fruit, and even if they do the fruit quality probably will be subpar.