Improved cultivars of salal gualtheria shallon

Does anyone know of any improved cultivars of salal? It is quite a good fruit in the wild. I’m no expert, but there are some pretty amazing fruit that started from a much worse fruit than the beginning point these would start at so it seems to me like there would be potential. Maybe they are too consistent and not enough unique traits? I know there is a cross of g. Shallon and g. Mucronata called Wisley Pearl, but i don’t think it is a big improvement.

3 Likes

Hi! Common name please.

The common name is “salal” – it was a major food source for indigenous peoples of the PNW pre-colonization. Here’s an article about it:

https://www.oregonencyclopedia.org/articles/salal/

And how OGW describes it:

I don’t know of anyone working on improving it, but it does seem like a good candidate. I’ve noticed significant differences in fruit quality when foraging on hikes in the region. I wouldn’t be surprised if there are patches of better quality fruit in areas where Salish peoples maintained them. My understanding is they would do essentially controlled burns and then spread salal into the burn scars, where it often dominates other understory plants naturally.

4 Likes

It’s something I’d heard about in the Pacific Northwest, and had wanted to try for years. When we moved to our place in the forest in 2010, I found it growing wild at the edges of the clearing. I agree that they are pretty good, if a little insipid. But quite palatable.

@SnacksFromPlants as far as breeding for improved selections based on the starting quality, I’ve found that I prefer the wild salal to the wild black raspberries here, and clearly black raspberries can be very good.

4 Likes