Introduction: Memphis Area

Hello, I’m new to fruit growing and this forum, I’ve been reading through old posts and finding lots of great info. I found this forum while researching jujube’s, I would really like to get some started here but they seem to be a bit more difficult to source than peaches and plums.

I live in the Memphis area (7b), and recently acquired a small 2 acre lot in West Memphis. I have a small beekeeping business and bought the place to build a honey house on. I have big ideas as far as landscaping, more ambitious than my ability and knowledge base allow, but I’m enjoying the learning process.

I’ve purchased 4 burbank, 4 bruce, 1 santa rosa and 1 methley plum, 6 peaches bellof GA and early elberta, 30 blueberry bushes sunshine blue and sharpblue as well as a few other varities that I purchased previously. I also have a few varieties of thronless blackberry, Arapho which ive had for years now, and recent additions triple crown, and prime ark traveller. I’ve only had success propagating blackberries so far, all of my blueberry attempts have been failures. Nearly all the trees and bushes were purchased 50% off from lowes.

Ive had some minor success propagating vitex which I will need a lot of for planned hedge rows. i would like vitex possibly alternating every so often with jujube for the side hedges. Ive purchased around 20 hollies for the back hedge also on sale.

I need lots more plants for all my landscaping projects, I would really like to learn more about propagation and grafting.

I’m excited to explore the forum more.

6 Likes

Welcome to the forum!

Well, I was in Collierville just a couple of days ago. Nice, friendly southern folks there. Walked around the town square. Lots of history.

Been purchasing honey that came from Collierville for years now. Robert Hodum honey. Bees must be popular there.