Is Crandall Clove Currant self-fertile?

Greetings!

I’m a newbie to this forum and I hope you can give me some guidance on Ribes odoratum ‘Crandall’. I have a small garden in New York City. We’re zone 7b. I’m hoping to grow a few fruit bushes. But, with a small garden, every inch and selection counts.

I’m curious about Clove Currants. From what I’ve read online, so far, it seems like Crandall comes highly recommended for taste and vigor.

But, I’m also reading on various sites that there are male and female plants. But, on other sites, it seems that the plant is self-fertile.

Do you know what’s what?

Have any of you grown this plant? If so, what’s your opinion of the taste?

How does the flavor compare to gooseberry or black currants?

I really appreciate any guidance on this, folks.

Thanks!

Jess

1 Like