Is it ok to paint fruit trees with pruning sealer to keep the rabbits away?

Rabbits have ruined half of my trees this summer I need something to deter them.

That’s a neat idea and I wonder myself what people will say about using pruning sealer for rabbits, voles, rats, etc. My system certainly isn’t original or especially clever, but I buy that flexible, black, corrugated black pipe that people often use for underground drains. ITs available at lowes/home depot pretty cheap overall. I cut it into 1 to 2.5 foot sections, then slice it longways from top to bottom, then pull it apart to get around the tree trunk. It goes back together immediately. This has also saved my trees when I bump them with the lawnmower or weed-eater. Others use hardware cloth. ANd, of course, they make commercial tree-wraps for this purpose. I’m last one to offer advice since I’m a newbie in training myself, but I thought I’d mention a few things I’ve learned from others. Honestly, with what I pay for pruning sealer I think my homemade pipe pieces are actually cheaper than if I coated the lower 3.5 feel with my asphalt pruning sealer. Good luck, though.

Sub sonic .22 at dusk or early daylight. Works on tree rats too.

2 Likes

I use the same product as Cityman with 100% success rate. But don’t use it on peach trees, because it
will hide borer damage.

As of now I haven’t had anything chewing on my plants but I am considering using a section of the black drainage pipe so I won’t have to be as careful using my weedeater. Thanks for the suggestion cityman and rayrose. Bill

Ray, if you plugged the top you might be able to get both borer protection and rabbit protection in one package. Borers need to fly to the base to lay eggs.

1 Like

Rabbits destroyed a bunch of my trees it was very disappointing after all the work I put into them.

Scott that’s a lot of plugging to do and you’d also have to seal the base. If a borer ever