Japanese and hybrid plum pollination

Apologies for what’s probably a frequently asked question, but I am new to fruit trees and currently pulling my hair out trying to find an answer to my specific situation.

I recently had a plum tree planted in my garden and only found out that it was an Ozark Premier once in the ground. I also later learned that it isn’t truly self fruitful, which has led to a bunch of desperate calls to nurseries in my area to find a good pollinating partner. Research has shown that a Vanier, Shiro, and Satsuma may make good pollinators, but without shopping online (and most major online retailers are sold out), I only have Mount Royal, Toka, Pembina, and Superior within a 100 mile radius since I’m pretty late in the game. Ruling out the Euro variety, I’m struggling to find the viability of the Toka, Pembina, and Superior as suitable to go with the Ozark Premier.

Can anyone provide insight as to whether those last three would work? If not, is there another option I haven’t considered? I’m having quite a lot of trouble wrapping my head around Japanese x hybrid vs Japanese x Japanese vs hybrid x hybrid pollination effectiveness.

Thank you!

Ozark Premier is a Japanese plum. Other J plums like Shiro and Satsuma are good pollination partners.

No worry about buying another tree. Between now an next spring, study up how to graft. I can send you scionwood of both. Grafting plums are easy.

5 Likes

Stark Bros. recommend this plum as a pollinator for Ozark Premier

Bubblegum/Toka Plum might also work if you are looking for a dwarf tree. I can’t be sure because Stark Bros. only list harvest times, they don’t list bloom times.

Ozark Premier is listed as a pollinator for this one so would assume it is also a good pollinator for Ozark Premier.

1 Like

Thank you for the information. I think in lieu of planting another tree I’ll go with the graft option and take you up on your offer!

PM me in the winter around Jan.

1 Like