Let's talk homemade fruit vinegar

I just started fermenting veg, and have been happy with the results so far. I have been baking sourdough bread for a few years now, and it’s been such a great experience. Now, it’s time to try fruit vinegar, and it is almost uncharted it seems. So many wildly conflicting approaches. Add sugar, use dried fruit, add yeast, just add fruit and water, on and on it goes. Makes me think that it might be almost foolproof – but it sure is dicey getting started.

I would like to know other folks experiences with making vinegar. I’m starting out with this approach and some of my dried apricots:
https://youtu.be/V9nfVu9zGxk
Right now my jar (started 9-19) is a bubbling jar of primordial soup. I remove any mold specks and stir it daily. It’s not something one would want to look at, that’s for sure. LOL

3 Likes

I had a extra bottle of currant wine that I didn’t have container for its second fermentation, so I just put it in an empty bottle and poured some organic apple vinegar in with the mother. It smells like vinegar now but I havent had the courage to use/consume it as food seasoning. I add it to the water when I water the plants.

I am also making my regular grapes wine and had a gallon or so liquid left from first fermentation. I just let it exposed in air. I wanted it to turn into Sherry. I use a lot of extra dry Sherry for cooking. I hope it will develop some kund of flor on the surface. If not it may turn into some kind of vinegar

2 Likes

I made really delish red wine vinegar. But I had to buy a 4 »mother » to start the fermentation process. Never made fruit vinegar, but I do like raspberry vinegar!

2 Likes