Lifetime of M26 grafted apple trees

Hi, I am a newbie to the forum. I have 12 apples on M26 still bearing at 30 years here in zone 4 Minnesota.
I am impressed, as others have stated, that trees do not age like people. These trees have rotting trunks and wounded limbs yet each year they hand out bushels of Liberty, Sweet 16, Honeycrusp and, the queen of them all a Chestnut crab on Antanova rootstock.

I was told that those on M26 graft had reached the end of their life.
I was greatly saddened :frowning:
Of course, when I planted them, as a younger man, I was thinking of a legacy. Like 100 years.
Now, seeing their many wounds and need for bracing, I feel like I am forcing them to stay on life support just because I can.
I have lectured them that they can back off on the multiparity thing. They won’t listen. The injured and decayed areas are skirted by healthy wood and bloom and bud regardless.
So, we limp along together: winter pruning, dormant sprays, limb crutches, on guard for all the life forms, from microscopic to antlered, that want a taste. Then each fall wondering where to give them away this time.

My kids have grown and left so
I have to wonder: If I did not do all the fussing and just let them grow to the sky, would they be happier? Would the intent of this Malus DNA be “free to be”?
Would they be just as “healthy” without my focus on production? What is it to be a good steward if I just want them to be there for the next passerby.
Jim

7 Likes

Hello Jim and welcome.

Not an expert, but my understanding is that trees on all kinds of dwarfing rootstock have shorter lifespans than those on seedlings.

I wonder if anybody here would recommend hilling soil around the base to encourage the tree to root above the graft, and whether that would help.

4 Likes

I would in-arch with a vigorous seedling bypassing the rootstock or use a semi-dwarf rootstock for the new roots.

5 Likes