Looking for help planning small home orchard: apples

Let me start by thanking Scott for setting up this forum, and all the rest of you for bringing so much to it. I’ve learned a lot from you guys, and I look forward to learning a lot more.

I’m in the process of planning a small home orchard, and I’m hoping to get some suggestions about things we might try, and things we probably shouldn’t. (Note: I’ve been doing a fair amount of reading up on things, but I have limited practical experience, so please bear that in mind.)

A little background: my wife, our four-year-old daughter, our dog, and myself live in a small town in the Pioneer Valley in Western Massachusetts. We’re on the border between zones 5b and 6a. We get some hot and some cold, some wet and some dry. None as severe as some of you may get in other parts in the country, but we do have to deal with a little bit of all of them, and somewhat unpredictably. You could describe our climate as temperate but temperamental.

In terms of our particular site, we have a small corner lot in a small town, with side streets on the south and west and neighbors on the north and east. The whole lot is about seventy-five feet south to north by ninety feet east to west. I’ve been told that before our house was built around 1915, the land was a vegetable garden. The ground is mostly level, the soil is somewhat acidic sandy loam, and the drainage is generally good (a little too good, if anything). As far as sun goes, we have an area on the south side where we get full sun year round, an area in the northeast corner where we get almost full sun in the summer and quite a bit less in the winter, and strips along the northern and eastern edges where we get part sun, with the rest being in the shade.

In the big picture, we want to create a pleasant environment around our house, produce some tasty things to eat, and be able to take care of things without having it get too overwhelming.