Making jam: a basic introduction

Making jam (her approach and my personal touch).

It’s not at all complicated. Either you make jam using existing recipes and following them from A to Z and in this case you don’t need to read this text because I do not have personal recipes to share. But if you are looking for hints and a bit of general knowledge about making jam then continue reading.

I wish I could tell you all about it but I’m not a professional “confiturier”, in French someone who makes jam as a job with formal food school diploma. I dohave about 52 years of experience and so try my best to transfer some of my knowledge/experience to growingfruit.org family members.

I was 8 year old and she was 60 years old with 35 years of solid food/kitchen experience. She was a chef in a sexist, misogynist society but she made her presence felt in the numerous hotel’s kitchens and restaurants she worked for as chef or kitchen supervisor. Is it not pure irony that women have been cooking for centuries and that most known famous chefs are… men???

Making jam was a delight, a reward for her. A peaceful time in her hectic work schedule. It was HER kitchen in HER house and nobody was admitted but me. She was my grandma and I was her kitchen helper!

She taught me everything from measuring sugar to pressing the lemons for juice and putting the seeds in a cotton cloth (for added pectin). I did every possible chore: peeling fruits, cutting it to fit the jar, grinding spices I had never seen or heard of, washing the Mason jars, putting labels etc. but tasting the results of our labour was always the ultimate reward.

At age 12, with a solid 4 years experience behind the t-shirt, I was even allowed to prepare the paraffin for toping the glass jars. Learning from her and experimenting with multiple fruits and ingredients was fun, adventurous and at the end of the day: good for my tummy.