Maple Syrup Time

Does anyone else do maple syrup here? I did a search and didn’t find much conversation. I know it is a bit off-topic for a fruit forum…but it certainly wins the brix contest. If there is any interest, I can post my progress this year and a simple method for anyone interested.

6 Likes

i am interested. tapped my maple tree for the first time and not much sap. i must be doing something wrong.

Not off-topic in my mind. Very interesting stuff.

2 Likes

I’m very interested. My Maples are only 2 years old but I intentionally planted 10 of them. The website said they could be tapped at 10 years old but I have no real idea.

I’m no expert, but I have done this for a few years and helped my grandfather when I was young. Boiled 68 gallons of sap down to 2 gallons of syrup last year. Here’s my method;

Tap trees when you expect temperatures to be in the 40’s during the day and freezing at night. This is mid to late February here…running late this year. I use brew buckets to collect sap.

I use very cheap water line fittings for taps. 3/8” barbed elbows and tees.

The size of tubing and fittings isn’t too important, but a smaller hole in the tree will heal more quickly. Drill into your tree at a slight angle so sap will drain out. The angle is really just so rain water will not collect after you remove the taps. I drill holes about 1.5 to 2” deep. Your drill bit should be small enough that you have to tap the fittings in with a mallet. Fittings only go in far enough to be snug. I always tap on the south side of the tree. The sun helps melt the sap in the lines and buckets. Tap trees that are 10” or more in diameter (not circumference). Large trees can have 2 or more taps.

8 Likes

For multiple taps in a single tree, I use an elbow for the first tap and run hose to a second lower tee tap like this;

5 Likes

I’ll show the boiling process later, but I use large hotel pans over my fire pit. These are the pans they use in buffet tables…pretty cheap.