Masking tape for securing graft union?

I got some grafting notes from Bob Purvis since it will be the first time my husband and I are attempting grafting. In them, he instructs to secure a bench graft with masking tape and grafting wax.

I haven’t been able to find any videos or images of this method, which makes me wonder if it’s unconventional.

Have you ever heard of using this combo? Would you recommend it for a beginner? Also, how to you safely remove the wax covering the masking tape without damaging the tree when the time comes to do so?

1 Like

I’m a beginner too at grafting.

For me, I use grafting film (it’s like plastic kitchen wrap as a tape) and thick rubber bands.

I graft scions that are 4inches or smaller on a cleft graft, and I wrap the film tightly over the graft union. Then I wrap the entire scion with the film to prevent moisture loss and encircle the graft union again tightly with the rubber band. The tightness from the film and rubber bands supplies pressure to ensure cambium contact and is sufficient to keep the scion in place as it heals.

When you cut the wedge on the scion for the cleft graft, make the two edges long, flat, and symmetrical with each other. Be careful cutting into the stock (where you insert the wedge), as it’s the most dangerous part.

Many ways to do it. I found melting grafting wax a hassle. I buy parafilm and grafting rubbers (rubber bands) from A.M. Leonard. I secure graft first with bands then parafilm over the bands and graft.

I know freezer tape is a good option- may work by itself as long as you seal the cut tip of scion with something- wood glue, grafting putty, caulk, Elmer’s.

1 Like

A lot depends on what you are grafting and what type graft. Apples and pears work fine using high rubber content electrical tape. Cleft and bark grafts using large rootstock IME works best with grafting wax. I made several very successful pear grafts on 6 inch rootstock a few years ago.