Muscadine Tarte

This is my first attempt at making this recipe with muscadines. The seeds were removed from the black muscadines and in the center (not in the picture) is several of the bronze seedless variety. It’s simple to make and so delicious. I’m not good at describing taste but to me I’m reminded of cherry and blackberry pies. The color is a little dark so next time I will try using all the bronze types. I mostly used @mrsg47 recipe and it taste great but it just doesn’t look so good.

10 Likes

Is that custard on top?

1 Like

Did the skin get soft with baking? I heard the muscadines have very leathery skins

1 Like

I’m not sure what the correct name is but below is how the filling is made. This is extracted from one of Mrsg post. The only exception was that I used ¾th cup of sugar. Thanks @mrsg47.

For the filling you will need

1/2 cup melted butter

1/2 cup sugar (the original recipe says 3/4 but I don’t like too much sugar, would rather taste the fruit.

1 teaspoon pure vanilla

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

2 egg yolks

2 Tablespoons all purpose flour

1 Like

The black muscadine was incorrectly labeled and has a tough skin so I wasn’t sure how it would turn out. Oh My the seedless muscadine has a tender skin and it was added without cutting. Both ended up tender and pleasant to eat.

2 Likes

Whoa!!! Bill it looks fabulous! I wish I was there to have a bite. Well done! I made a pie with Concords, very tangy but good. You pie looks just great!!!

1 Like

Perfect!!! It makes a simple but delicious custard filling.

1 Like

Awesome! I might try this as my family doesn’t eat the fresh muscadines and I can only eat so many myself.

2 Likes

Scott which muscadine varieties do you grow these days?

I have Supreme, Black Beauty, Sugargate, Tara, Ison, and Darlene. These are all from about ten years ago, I have not added anything recently. I got a new one from Ison a few years ago but it was a weak plant that died and I never replaced it.

2 Likes