My peach tree is infected

Hello folks,

I’m new to gardening and feel really bad about neglecting my peach tree that I planted a couple years ago. Not knowing anything I simply planted and and forgot about it until now. My peach tree looks to like it’s infected. Majority of the trunk and branches has a greyish color to it or covered in tree sap. It’s gotten so bad that one of the major branch of the tree completely swelled up and died. I had to amputate it and will spray some pruning seal on the area.

Can anyone identify if it has a disease or infestation? How can I cure my peach tree? I really don’t want to chop it down.

2 Likes

I dont know I am going to guese peach tree borer’s. Cutting down half the tree might be an option. Then insecticides to protect from the insects again.

I’ll buy some insecticide. How often do I apply insecticide? Do I apply it on the soil, the tree or both?

First before tree removal do this

1. Check trees frequently in spring near the soil line, looking for evidence of borer tunneling. If you find holes, probe them with a stiff wire to kill the caterpillar.
  2. Spray horticultural oil at high, dormant-season rates once leaves fall.
    After probing plant bulbs of garlic around the base of the tree.
    Then once dormant do #2 above
    If you have wood ashes dispose of them around tree trunk
    Dennis
    Kent wa

Peach tree borer attacks just above the soil line. I’d suspect bacterial canker. If that’s the case, it’s difficult to deal with.

1 Like

Also, I think its been asserted in this forum that mature peach trees generally don’t send new shoots from old wood. But perhaps it could be cut low and grafted.

It looks like the graft union might be just below that nastiness.

3 Likes