My permaculture forest farm orchard

By request, I have decided to show how I garden. One technique I use is to focus on microclimates. The first picture is in the South facing cul de sac hot asphalt side of the house. Stuff will burn up in our dry hot summers, so I planted things that like heat: figs, grapes, mulberries, quince, passionflower, palms, cactus, kiwi, bay (leaf herb), pineapple guava, asparagus, pomegranate. Then they will create shade so seedlings and other plants can grow underneath. When it’s 95 degrees out, I stand under my black mulberry tree all summer and eat the berries in the cool shade.
Wait-I’m not too good at computers

7 Likes

Also crepe myrtles, trifoliate orange, silverberry, and a variety of apple called “Calville Blanc D’hiver” which grows well in sun. This caveman is slowly figuring out how to post pictures.

5 Likes

What zone are you in?

I’m in zone 8b-9a. Our limits are more that plants die from diseases in our wet soggy winters. They only go down to 15-20 F most winters, but they are consistently wet and in our poor draining clay, many plants drown or get diseases. Also as i said, many small plants die in our hot dry 4 months of almost no rain in the summer.
JohnS
PDX OR

Nice photos thanks for sharing.
It looks like Permaculture.
I couldn’t have that in my yard. (Although some areas get close)
We have copperhead snakes and moccasin snakes and you need a lot of room each side of paths.
They come racing out across the paths to get away from you.
Although I did have one moccasin who chased people.
He brought venom to a shotgun fight and that was the last we saw of him.

1 Like