My Tiny Suburban Fruitway

Have what once was a driveway on one side of our house on 5k sqft lot morphing into something edible. Will use this for journaling a bit about what’s going on. Welcome any and all feedback as I’m new to growing fruit (and other good) and gardening.

8 Likes

Here are a few navel orange scions grafted on what looks like a seedling lemon from a prior owner.

I think I’m supposed to head back when shoots reach a couple feet, and also select only one scion to remain.

7 Likes

Nice looking grafts and 3 good takes! Nice job. Now you have to pick one soon. Look forward to seeing more of your edible “fruitway”

3 Likes

So far on our little lot I have:

Lime, believe Bearss, from prior owner
Lemon, seedling maybe of Lisbon, from prior owner

Fuji apple espalier, planted ~Feb 2018
Weeping Santa Rosa plum, planted ~Feb 2018
Flavor King Pluot, planted ~Feb 2018

Flame Grape, planted ~Feb 2020
Multi bud Peach, planted ~April 2019
Fuyu Persimmon, panted ~April 2019

Craig’s Crimson, planted ~April 2019, died shortly after
Lapins Cherry, planted ~April 2019
Royal Rainier Cherry,planted ~April 2019

Kishu Mandarin, planted Spring 2019
Golden Nugget Mandarin, planted Spring 2019
Satsuma Mandarin, planted Fall 2019

Parfianka Pomegranate, planted ~Feb 2018
Eversweet Pomegranate, planted ~Feb 2018

4 Likes

Flame Grape

Cherries planted 2 in 1 hole (3 but one died)

Persimmon (photo of the lone 2 fruits developing in second pic)

Apple espalier (will pull the top tier down once grafts are a bit more solid–it budded in April which all dropped, and now has two bud clusters as of a couple weeks ago)

Peach (was impressed with fruit set, but really screwed that one up on my own with an oil spray that was too concentrated, and they along with most of the leaves dropped. Really glad it’s recovering OK-- though now waiting for fruit until next season)

Weeping Santa Rosa Plum. (same as Peach in terms of fruit set and spray… :frowning:)