Natures Cruelest Joke

OK, not really anywhere near the cruelest, but certainly a mean practical joke.

I’ve been developing my orchard for 30 years and this season promised to be the most exciting one yet for tasting the wide range of apples I have brought to my property by individual trees and many grafts. I thinned and thinned and sprayed for pristine fruit- a total of 7 sprays, with five just for beauty and to prevent rot and corking of a few susceptible varieties.

So by the first week of Oct. many varieties like Jonathon, Kidd’s Orange Red, Ashmead’s Kernel, and Cox Orange Pippin are at peak ripeness, and they are dropping off the tree ripe, but our monsoon season has stopped the trees from putting nearly adequate sugar into the fruit.

I have hundreds and hundreds of pounds of beautiful apples that aren’t sweet enough to make even gifting them pleasurable.

Stonefruit wasn’t a washout although certain parts of the season left trees of fruit worthless, but plums were pretty good and I got what I needed of decent nectarines and gave away a lot of peaches along with the nearly tasteless ones I let rot.

There are times when growing fruit in the humid region bears more despair than joy.

Oh well, we’ll get 'em next year.

18 Likes

We do hope.

1 Like

My AI orchard is doing well.

15 Likes

I read that as Al, as in Alabama, and when I scrolled down to the picture I was like “aw hell naw, there’s no apple tree in all of Alabama that healthy and productive.”

The fakeness of the image took a few seconds to register, and in the meantime I was just shaking my head.

10 Likes

Thats nothing compared to my AI strawberry vines

3 Likes

If you’re interested, I would purchase some fruit from you to make cider with. I’m on Long Island and would happily come to you. No pressure, but I find that even on low brix years, you can make some interesting ciders that lean into more “herbal” characteristics as opposed to fruity ones.

3 Likes