Nectarine Tree Growing Peaches

So in March of this year (2021) as a bit of an impulse (I’ve never done fruit tree planting before) I grabbed a nectarine tree from Home Depot since it was cheap, and the planting may end up being temporary anyway (only for 3 or so years). The tree was the ‘Sunglo’ variety, and at purchase was around ~7’ tall (I’m assuming 2-3 years old), and was already in bloom.

Considering it was the first year of ownership, I was pleased to see about 20 fruit set after flowering, but as they developed, I noticed they were fuzzy. I know nectarines are just peaches without the fuzz, but since I’ve never grown either I thought at first that maybe some varieties just lose the fuzz as they develop. It did seem suspicious though, so the next time I was in the area I stopped by Home Depot and checked out the one remaining nectarine tree they had for this season, same variety (Sunglo), probably same shipment. It had perfectly smooth fruit (no fuzz). I decided to purchase this second tree (since it was likely the last they’d have available that season) and asked the Home Depot manager where they got their trees from. He said it was American Nursery Services (I’m sure Home Depot regionally sources many of their nursery items). So I e-mailed that company asking them if they knew what kind of tree I had. They stated they were just a ‘merchandising’ company and had nothing to do with sourcing the tree, and I had to talk to Home Depot again. I’m currently trying to get in touch with Home Depot national support to see if they can help, but I’m not optimistic.