Need urgent advice on Plum Curculio spray

I have been using Triazicide for several years having been encouraged by this group.
I have serious scars most years. This year I have scars before all of the petals fall off!!
Anyway, I sprayed Triazicide yesterday with some petals still on the tree.

Today I learned that I have more scars that I thought. I am mad and want kill them.

I can spray again soon with Triazicide, or I have Malathoin, and I still have Sevin(carbaryl kind).

The internet search says that Sevin is more effective, however I have heard that I might thin the crop.

I have so many apple I will have to thin most of them so the Carbaryl thin might not be a bad thing.

Your thoughts are appreciated. soon, I am going to Spray something yet today… weekend is when I have to work in the orchard and another week will have every apple scarred.

Edit:: and Permethrin is also a choice.

So a vote:
Carbaryl ?
Permethrin?
Malathoin ?
Triazicide?

lol :slight_smile:

Thanks!

1 Like

Next year I would try Surround. The white kaolin clay powder. It really works. But it is used after petal fall. Are you using a sticker with your Triazicide?

If you want Sevin, you need to look for a new Sevin with the main ingredient of zeta cypermethrin. It sits side by side with the old Sevin at Lowe’s andHome Depot.It is effective.

2 Likes

Standard advice is to use different chemical controls from time to time to avoid buildup of resistance in the target insect population.

Malathion is a very old organophosphate (OP), which is still worth considering IMNSHO.