New here; looking for KS and OK growers

This site was recommended to me from someone on another site who lives in a different region of the country than I do. He thought I might have more luck finding region specific answers than I was finding over there.

Anyway, I’m new to this fruit growing thing but am enjoying it immensely. A couple of yrs ago I planted 3 pears and 2 crabs. Last yr I planted some Che, a Mulberry, a Tigertooth Jujube, Elderberry cuttings (they produced the first yr), and some blackberry. This yr I’ve planted 1 more crab, 3 apples, and another type of pear. I’ve also planted various nuts such as Chinese Chestnut and several types of oak but suspect you guys don’t care much for those.

Anyway, what lead me here is lack of specifics to southern Kansas. Anyone here that has experience in this area? What’s working for you and what didn’t?

Thanks a ton!

3 Likes

Welcome a board Catscratch!

2 Likes

Welcome Jason. @clarkinks is located in Kansas but I don’t know what part. I often wish I lived close enough to visit his place and see if I could learn a little of his vast knowledge. Bill

2 Likes

Hello Jason, and welcome to the forum. As Bill said, @clarkinks, is in KS, close to Kansas City, I think. He’s kinda the pear guru on here. There’s also @Olpea, who lives south of KC, who runs a peach orchard. Plus, there’s @mksmth, who is in the Tulsa area, and @Derby42, who although he’s close to Springfield, MO, that’s somewhat close to these other guys.

I grew up in the Tulsa area, but am now in Kentucky, so I can’t really help you, but these guys ought to offer some advice. One of the best things about the forum is all the free advice from some very knowledgeable folks.

So, you’re in southern Kansas, whereabouts? That’s a good pecan growing area, we’re trying grow some up here, but it may be a long shot, but thought we’d give it a try.

2 Likes

Which end of Kansas are you in, the east is vastly different than the west as I’m sure you are aware.